To the great disappointment of my boyfriend, I did it… not minutes ago…I caved. I created a Twitter account (to go along side my Facebook and Myspace accounts). I can’t explain why I did it… all I know is Twitter’s popularity is growing and fast. 

Moments after signing up for Twitter, I received a “Welcome to Twitter” email which instantly inspired me to write this blog. The following is what I received:

“Hello, new Twitter-er! 

Using Twitter is going to change the way you think about staying in touch with friends and family. Did you know you can send and receive Twitter updates via mobile texting or the web?”

Twitter is going to change the way I think about staying in touch with friends and family? A bold statement Twitter, a bold statement indeed. Twitter has balls. No other social networking site has flat out TOLD me how I am going to think. But then again, Twitter is attracting the masses.

The same welcoming email goes on to say, “The New York Times calls Twitter “one of the fastest-growing phenomena on the Internet.” TIME Magazine says, “Twitter is on its way to becoming the next killer app,” and Newsweek noted that “Suddenly, it seems as though all the world’s a-twitter.” What will you think?”  

Well, Twitter, why don’t you tell me what to think! (I’m already bitter, Twitter.) Millions of people are currently active users, so I guess the world is indeed a-twitter.

According to Robin Summerfield’s article Compelled to Share: Is Twitter the Future, or the Future of Navel-Gazing? of the National Post, Twitter can be “billed as a social messaging utility, people use Twitter to send mini-messages and give instant updates about their current state of being and doing. People can join any conversation and there’s no friend status required. It’s called micro-blogging and experts say this social networking trend can help you build your business and career.” Beautifully explained.

Journal article Why We Twitter: Understanding Microblogging Usage and Communities states, “Microblogging is a new form of communication in which users can describe their current status in short posts distributed by instant messages, mobile phones, email or the Web.” (Java A, et al) Microblogging is the future, no more of this “wordpress” nonsense. I’ll say what I need to in 140 characters (a Twitter requirement).

Summerfield states that celebrities including Britney Spears, John Mayer, Ashton Kutcher and wife Demi Moore are all active Twitter users. Mike Strobel’s states in his article, I Tweet Therefore I Am – I Thwink that Twitter went from 6 million users in January of this year, to 10 million this month. I told you, Twitter is popular

What is Twitter?

What is Twitter?

 Come follow: http://twitter.com/LauraFalse

